d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Entertainment Room > Favorite Songs & Bands > Need Advice > Edm Production
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: Locked
Trader: Scammer
Warn: 40%
Dec 8 2014 09:17am
Note to mods:
I would post in Musician's Chat but the place is so dead :( and I need an answer soon so I can have it by christmas. Please don't close at least for a little bit need answer ;(

First a little background:
I am absorbed by music. I have been playing guitar for 12 years now at this point.
I listen to just about anything that takes talent, prog metal, indie, bluegrass, jam bands, a whole range of edm.

What I'm after:
I want to start producing/sampling/recording.
With a $300-400 limit for Christmas, what is the best way to start the process? Gear or software or something else?
I'm thinking Abelton live with the student discount?
The type of genre that influences me the most (and this is important because it changes what software to get) are:
  • liquid DnB
  • Minimalistic Progressive House
  • Trance
  • Psytrance
  • Ambient
  • Down Tempo / chillstep
I am not looking to create dubstep!

Example of sound/feel:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wVsi-_9macQ

If you help me out with a discuss or pming me or whatever when I get some fg which i'm sure I will soon, I'll donate you like 100 fg each per person who helps me.

ty in advance
no spam pls

This post was edited by Quasi on Dec 8 2014 09:25am
Gold: 16,240.00
Dec 8 2014 09:39am
All you need is music production software

Ableton is good but not very intuitive. Cuebase, logic pro, reason and fruityloops are all good alternatives

They should all have methods of recording instruments via the mic line
Or if you have a midi instrument you can record the actual notes you play rather than the sound the instrument makes