d2jsp
Gaming and Trading Community
Gaming and Trading Community
d2jsp Forums > Graphic Design > Photography > Raw Image Processing > Guide
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Page 3 of 5 12345
bergmann
#21 Nov 16 2008 01:05pm
Group: Member
Posts: 8,493
Joined: Jun 19 2003
Gold: 1,293.00
Quote (Futurama @ Sun, Nov 16 2008, 01:32am)
lol well good luck having the mods make it a sticky biggrin.gif
I have read about the advantages of shooting in raw in some other forum before but never really got the energy to do that since I would have to install CS3 and all that biggrin.gif


Check out Adobe Lightroom.
Futurama
#22 Nov 16 2008 01:58pm
Group: Member
Posts: 11,814
Joined: Feb 4 2006
Gold: 8.09
Quote (bergmann @ Sun, Nov 16 2008, 01:05pm)
Check out Adobe Lightroom.


ah you mean lightroom can process Raw as well? butl I am going to stick with Photoshop for now thanks though
bergmann
#23 Nov 16 2008 07:02pm
Group: Member
Posts: 8,493
Joined: Jun 19 2003
Gold: 1,293.00
Quote (Futurama @ Sun, Nov 16 2008, 03:58pm)
ah you mean lightroom can process Raw as well? butl I am going to stick with Photoshop for now thanks though


Lightroom is for RAW files. It also catalogues your pics if you want it to. You can also non-destructively edit photos - it saves the edits seperately. And you can pull up the two side by side and compare. I have an older version of photoshop without CameraRaw, so I use Lightroom for Raw editing and PS for jpeg editing.
Futurama
#24 Nov 16 2008 07:07pm
Group: Member
Posts: 11,814
Joined: Feb 4 2006
Gold: 8.09
hehe well I think I'd rather upgrade to CS3 than installing a whole new program. That is if it wont crash too much as it does for Chantal here lol
bergmann
#25 Nov 16 2008 08:23pm
Group: Member
Posts: 8,493
Joined: Jun 19 2003
Gold: 1,293.00
Quote (Futurama @ Sun, Nov 16 2008, 09:07pm)
hehe well I think I'd rather upgrade to CS3 than installing a whole new program. That is if it wont crash too much as it does for Chantal here lol


I only recommended lightroom because it's a very small program (50mb, + 50 more for the update)
Rusomaster
#26 Nov 17 2008 03:20am
Group: Member
Posts: 12,067
Joined: Oct 7 2005
Gold: 0.00
nice^^
lithfkn
#27 Nov 17 2008 07:09pm
Group: Member
Posts: 14,650
Joined: Jan 27 2007
Gold: 78.16
Just a quick point...

Post production and colour correction is pretty useless unless your monitor is calibrated for daylight...
Antichrist-
#28 Nov 17 2008 07:24pm
Group: Member
Posts: 29,050
Joined: Aug 3 2005
Gold: 14.37
Quote (lithfkn @ Tue, 18 Nov 2008, 03:09)
Just a quick point...

Post production and colour correction is pretty useless unless your monitor is calibrated for daylight...


Daylight doesent effect at all atleast on my screen, different thing if someone has hs monitor next to window with sun shining from the window. Room light has little or no effect, its enough if u got your monitor calibrated. Allso if someone doesent have spyder or other calibration tools and need to use some charts, then its good to make safe edits, meaning not really dark with high contrast etc.
lithfkn
#29 Nov 17 2008 08:30pm
Group: Member
Posts: 14,650
Joined: Jan 27 2007
Gold: 78.16
Quote (Antichrist- @ Tue, Nov 18 2008, 11:24am)
Daylight doesent effect at all atleast on my screen, different thing if someone has hs monitor next to window with sun shining from the window. Room light has little or no effect, its enough if u got your monitor calibrated. Allso if someone doesent have spyder or other calibration tools and need to use some charts, then its good to make safe edits, meaning not really dark with high contrast etc.


Yeah, I meant the monitor calibration. It needs to be calibrated to daylight (6500). You might have an option of "6500k" but its never accurate.

It makes a huge difference when printing (might be irrelevant in this discussion though lol)
Antichrist-
#30 Nov 18 2008 04:53am
Group: Member
Posts: 29,050
Joined: Aug 3 2005
Gold: 14.37
Quote (lithfkn @ Tue, 18 Nov 2008, 04:30)
Yeah, I meant the monitor calibration. It needs to be calibrated to daylight (6500). You might have an option of "6500k" but its never accurate.

It makes a huge difference when printing (might be irrelevant in this discussion though lol)


i got spyder for monitor calibration, i dunno if its 6500k, but it should be correct
Go Back To Photography Topic List
Page 3 of 5 12345