d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Computers & IT > Computer Building > Overkill? Thoughts Plz.
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 14,704.00
Warn: 20%
Feb 6 2024 09:04am
So this is my first build since.... D2 LOD time.

I have been doing lots of my research and I'm wondering if A.) Any of this is overkill or a staple in having a good future-proof setup? I do consider this to be a fun hobby once I get going and eventually plan to do fun little upgrades over time. But for now mainly use for D2R multiple copies, Fortnite, and COD. More games if I get interested. Also some light video editing and graphics work, generative AI capable in the near future. Apologies in advance if this topic has been covered or if my question is simple, I am trying to understand better the world or modern computers but the vast seas of information is overwhelming so I thought I'd crowdsource some information to see if it helps. :D

CPU:I've been torn between various versions of AMD but I think for the gaming benefit I might go AMD (and I've read it's a lot cooler chip than Intel). Bouncing around between AMD Ryzen 9 (7950X3D and 7900X3D). Is the former that much better? I was originally planning to go the 7900X3D route but I read that it doesn't really excel at anything and is just a weird in-between CPU between the 7950X3D and the 7800X3D and not worth the upgrade over the 7800X3D. Again, this is just what I read from internet strangers.. what is the truth?

GPU: is the other big part.. I'm REALLY torn between the following:
GeForce RTX 4070 Ti (Super worth it?)
Radeon RX 7900 XT (XTX Worth it?)

I'm trying to stay in the 700-900 range for GPU and not go crazy with the highest Geforce or Radeon.. but can consider it if it's that much more impressive. I feel like I'm getting so carried away with this stuff and the more I research the more I try to justify needing the nicest things. Are these super cards more future proof or are they for professionals and serious hobbyists only?